ICCBDC 2021 Keynote Speakers


Bhavani Thuraisingham

Founders Chair Professor, The University of Texas at Dallas, USA

Executive Director of the Cyber Security Research and Education Institute

Dr. Bhavani Thuraisingham is the Founders Chair Professor of Computer Science and the Executive Director of the Cyber Security Research and Education Institute at the University of Texas at Dallas (UTD). She is also a visiting Senior Research Fellow at Kings College, University of London and an elected Fellow of the ACM, IEEE, the AAAS, the NAI and the BCS. She was a Cyber Security Policy Fellow at the New America Foundation in 2017-8. Her research interests are on integrating cyber security and artificial intelligence/data science for the past 35 years (it used to be computer security and data management/mining/expert systems). She has received several awards including the IEEE CS 1997 Technical Achievement Award, ACM SIGSAC 2010 Outstanding Contributions Award, the IEEE Comsoc Communications and Information Security 2019 Technical Recognition Award, the IEEE CS Services Computing 2017 Research Innovation Award, the ACM CODASPY 2017 Lasting Research Award, the IEEE ISI 2010 Research Leadership Award, the 2017 Dallas Business Journal Women in Technology Award, and the ACM SACMAT 10 Year Test of Time Awards for 2018 and 2019 (for papers published in 2008 and 2009). She co-chaired the Women in Cyber Security Conference (WiCyS) in 2016 and delivered the featured address at the 2018 Women in Data Science (WiDS) at Stanford University as well as keynote addresses at Cyber-W 2017 and 2020 (Women in Cyber Security Research), 2019 Women in Communications Engineering (WICE), and 2018 Women in Services Computing, and serves as the Co-Director of both the Women in Cyber Security and Women in Data Science Centers at UTD. Her 40-year career includes industry (Control Data, Honeywell), federal research laboratory (MITRE), US government (NSF) and US Academia. Her work has resulted in 130+ journal articles, 300+ conference papers, 150+ keynote and featured addresses, six US patents, fifteen books as well as technology transfer of the research to commercial products and operational systems. She received her PhD from the University of Wales, Swansea, UK, and the prestigious earned higher doctorate (D. Eng) from the University of Bristol, UK.


Schahram Dustdar

Prof. Dr., TU Wien, Austria

IEEE Fellow, ACM Distinguished Scientist
Member of Academia Europaea

Schahram Dustdar is Full Professor of Computer Science heading the  Research Division of Distributed Systems at the TU Wien, Austria. He  holds several honorary positions: University of California (USC) Los  Angeles; Monash University in Melbourne, Shanghai University, Macquarie  University in Sydney, and University of Groningen (RuG), The Netherlands  (2004-2010). From Dec 2016 until Jan 2017 he was a Visiting Professor at  the University of Sevilla, Spain and from January until June 2017 he was  a Visiting Professor at UC Berkeley, USA. 

From 1999 - 2007 he worked as the co-founder and chief scientist of  Caramba Labs Software AG in Vienna (acquired by Engineering NetWorld  AG), a venture capital co-funded software company focused on software  for collaborative processes in teams. Caramba Labs was nominated for  several (international and national) awards: World Technology Award in  the category of Software (2001); Top-Startup companies in Austria (Cap  Gemini Ernst & Young) (2002); MERCUR Innovation award of the Austrian  Chamber of Commerece (2002). 

He is founding co-Editor-in-Chief of the new ACM Transactions on  Internet of Things (ACM TIoT) as well as Editor-in-Chief of Computing  (Springer). He is an Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Services  Computing, IEEE Transactions on Cloud Computing, ACM Transactions on the  Web, and ACM Transactions on Internet Technology, as well as on the  editorial board of IEEE Internet Computing and IEEE Computer. Dustdar is  recipient of the ACM Distinguished Scientist award (2009), the IBM  Faculty Award (2012), the IEEE TCSVC Outstanding Leadership Award  (2018), the IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing (2019).  an elected member of the Academia Europaea: The Academy of Europe, where  he is chairman of the Informatics Section, as well as an IEEE Fellow (2016).